h1

Amazing times at the TTXGP

May 15, 2010

I’ve been writing about, tweeting about, and moderating the TTXGP Technical Rules Wiki for a few months now, and up until yesterday, it represented somewhat of an abstract idea to me.  It wasn’t connected to anything I had actually witnessed or experienced.  I’m not a motorcycle racing fan or, more accurately, I wasn’t a motorcycle racing fan until recently, and I hadn’t ventured very far into imagining what the experience of being at the racetrack would entail.

I was blind, but now I see.

I’m sitting trackside right now, typing away, as the I.C.E.-powered bikes scream past.  To have a conversation here is a challenge.  To make a phone call, I had to retire to the Men’s room.  It is loud.

In about 15 minutes, that will change.  The first of two qualifying heats for the TTXGP electric bikes is scheduled to begin.  The bikes are beginning to line up at the fence, ready to head out to the track.

The camaraderie of the teams has been amazing.  Yesterday, one team had burned up their motor controller. A member of another team offered him a spare one.

I’m going to publish this now, and will update after the first qualifier.  All I can say right now is that I’m humbled to be a witness of, and a participant in, history being made.

3 comments

  1. Do they need to make a certain lap time to qualify or is it more for setting up the grid for the race?


  2. Yes, there is a requirement that the slowest time allowed is a percentage of the fastest time. Not sure whether that will be enforced at this time, but we shall see.


  3. Actually, I just heard that they are using the times for placement on the grid. Thanks for asking, Domenick!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

